Amazon.com (US)
Amazon.co.uk (UK)
Amazon.ca (Canada)

SBS Mag

Old 02-04-2016, 11:25 AM View Post #1 (Link) Developing a writing style
DestinyVamp (Offline)
Scholarly Apprentice

Times Thanked: 9
This has been a big problem for me, I want to develop a style of writing which I don't understand how
I know I am an immature writer though I can brainstorm my manuscript like a video processor with a costly internet connection (Sorry if it sounds too snooty) But I have no idea how to put it into words in a way it looks how I've seen it...We can consult a thesaurus to come up with a better wording but those wriggling phrases...I don't know how to construct them.
I can be by myself because I'm never lonely; I'm simply alone, living in my heavily populated solitude, a harum-scarum of infinity and eternity, and Infinity and Eternity seem to take a liking to the likes of me.
― Bohumil Hrabal, Too Loud a Solitude
Old 02-04-2016, 09:25 PM View Post #2 (Link)
Dabs (Offline)
Freelance Writer

Times Thanked: 151
I'm a little lost by the wording of this question but I'm going to try and address this subject as best as I can. Developing a style isn't something that you just do. Faulkner, Foster-Wallace, Camus, Woolf, and so on--these people developed their style because they wanted something specific from their writing. They wanted their stories to read in certain ways, and they wanted to engage with certain ideas. The style of their prose reflects that. So I don't really think anyone can tell you how to develop a style. It's a very personal process, and, more so, fairly complicated. Style boils down to more than just the appearance of your prose.